First game (newbie)

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
nelmaven
Prole

First game (newbie)

Post by nelmaven »

Hai there! :megagrin:

First of all, this is my first time posting here, so excuse me if this is not the proper place to post this.

The game it's a Pong clone (shocking, right?) and this is my first time diving into Lua and LÖVE so I would like to ask for opinions, on the game and on the code. Pretty please? :3

The code is hosted on Github.
Attachments
pong.love
(47.97 KiB) Downloaded 251 times
davisdude
Party member

Re: First game (newbie)

Post by davisdude »

nelmaven wrote:Hai there! :megagrin:
Hello! :D
nelmaven wrote:First of all, this is my first time posting here, so excuse me if this is not the proper place to post this.
Welcome, and this is the right place to post this.
nelmaven wrote:The game it's a Pong clone (shocking, right?) and this is my first time diving into Lua and LÖVE so I would like to ask for opinions, on the game and on the code. Pretty please? :3
Terribly shocking. Nobody does Pong clones anymore (just kidding). ;)
Anyway, here are my comments:
I like how you have all of your pictures in the pictures folder, etc. It leads to good organization, and keeps everything nice and clean.
As for the code, here it goes:
ball.lua
Just some math here, doesn't really matter, but:

Code: Select all

return (love.window.getWidth() / 2) - (ball.width / 2)
is the same as

return ( love.window.getWidth() - ball.width ) / 2
Doesn't really make much of a difference, but, ya' know...

If I were you, I would make ball.rotation a value, just to avoid hard-coding information. It makes it easier to edit in the long run.
Same with most all straight-up numbers. Good habit to get into.

field.lua
You make field a global table. If I were you, I would do the same thing I did for ball, which is make a local table, then return it.
Same for pad, collision, field, score, title, and menu.

main.lua