Using SciTE with LÖVE

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by Robin » Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:02 pm

If you are using SciTE to develop LÖVE games, you might find the following useful:

Add this line to lua.properties: (open it via the menu: Options -> Edit Properties -> Open lua.properties)

Code: Select all

command.go.main.lua=love "$(FileDir)"
Note: make sure you are root -- run gksudo scite (if you use Gnome).

This will run LÖVE if you press F5, but only if the opened file is main.lua.

(If you have other tips & tricks for SciTE, please share!)
Help us help you: attach a .love.

Rabbitbunny
Prole
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by Rabbitbunny » Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:04 pm

Very useful, speeds up development and reduces window switching.

poorenglish
Prole
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:49 pm

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by poorenglish » Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:55 pm

Oh,no!
“The system can not find the specified file”,I can't run it the error occur
Win XP SP3,SciTE Version 1.75 ,Love 0.50

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by bartbes » Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:53 pm

These were linux instructions, use the full path to the love exe on windows.

poorenglish
Prole
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 1:49 pm

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by poorenglish » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:15 pm

OK,Thank you,it's very useful

hide
Prole
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by hide » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:46 pm

I can't do it in windows, tried every kind of mix i can think of but still throwing me
">lua5.1 "main.lua"
>The system cannot find the file specified."

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files (x86)\Dev\LOVE\=love "$(FileDir)"
What's wrong ?
by Jasoco : Löve is cross-platform after all.

User avatar
kikito
Inner party member
Posts: 3153
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:22 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by kikito » Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:57 pm

That space on the path looks suspicious.

Have you tried putting the "C:\... " between quotes?

If that doesn't work, you might try adding the LOVE folder to your PATH. Then you will just have to use love "$(FileDir)", like the linux guys.

Or, you can try installing LOVE on a less "special" folder (with no spaces or special characters on it)
When I write def I mean function.

User avatar
bartbes
Sex machine
Posts: 4946
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:35 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by bartbes » Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:01 am

You'd need

Code: Select all

command.go.main.lua="C:\Program Files (x86)\Dev\LOVE\love.exe" "$(FileDir)"

osuf oboys
Party member
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:03 pm

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by osuf oboys » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:19 pm

Ah, that made things a bit easier on windows. Thanks, Robin.
If I haven't written anything else, you may assume that my work is released under the LPC License - the LÖVE Community. See http://love2d.org/wiki/index.php?title=LPC_License.

hide
Prole
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Using SciTE with LÖVE

Post by hide » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:14 pm

Hey, it's been 6 month but i finally got love working with scite :crazy:

Just modify the end of lua.properties like this :

Code: Select all

# compatible with LuaBinaries for Lua 5.1; will work on both platforms.
##command.compile.*.lua=luac5.1 -o "$(FileName).luc" "$(FileNameExt)"
# Lua 5.1
##command.go.*.lua=lua5.1 "$(FileNameExt)"
# Lua 4.0
#command.go.*.lua=Lua-4.0.exe -c -f "$(FileNameExt)"

command.go.main.lua="C:\Program Files (x86)\Dev\LOVE\love.exe" "$(FileDir)"
I only commented the default lua binaries/5.1/4.0 commands and added the last line.
Just make sure you put your own path to love.exe and your lua file is called "main.lua".

Or just put "command.go.*.lua" in place of "command.go.main.lua".

I hope this will help.

Next year i'll probably find how to make something moving on the screen !

EDIT : It's on the wiki now : http://love2d.org/wiki/Scite
by Jasoco : Löve is cross-platform after all.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], kkasaownem and 6 guests