New to Lua - tutorials

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Wulfie
Prole

New to Lua - tutorials

Post by Wulfie »

Code: Select all

I spent a few hours last night scouring the web reading up on some lua stuff. I came across some reasonably well done tutorials about the basics of Lua. The one down side is they are all for use on PSP home brew. My new personal task is now to use these and other lua/love examples and build a very simple to understand tutorial. Since I am new to Lua, I will write these as I learn, so they should be less technical and more K.I.S.S. 

I am thinking to play on the theme of love and write a nice tutorial of the basics through building a small game. My working title will be "The Book of Love". 

Look for some basic tutorials soon, and probably questions as I go along.

This will be my way of giving back to what I feel is a helpful community and a great porject.
After scouring the forums and finding links to the neither regions of the web I have found that most of the info I was looking for is out there already. I will like to change this thread to be a place for people to post links to their already made tutorials, or other tuts that they have the permission to post links to. If we can get some links together from everyone I would be more than happy to organize them and post them to the wiki under "User contributed tutorials". There is a lot of great knowledge out there, yet right now it takes some time to locate.

If this for any reason this doesnt sound like a good idea, then just swap me on the nose with a news paper and I will run along to my other projects

^,,^
Wulfie
Last edited by Wulfie on Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
"We do not stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing." -- Unknown
Anxiety
Prole

Re: New to Lua - tutorials

Post by Anxiety »

I can't come up with a good signature!
BlackBulletIV
Inner party member

Post by BlackBulletIV »