Another noob bites the dust...

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Doubi
Prole

Another noob bites the dust...

Post by Doubi »

Hello everyone ! As I'm totally new to this message board, I will present myself briefly in order to precise my general background and what I'll try to achieve (and it's polite too), before stumping you with all my stupid questions.

I'm a 25 year old guy from France and I'm trained in graphic design and general communication ; I have no prior experience in programming whatsoever, and learning the Lua language and the Löve framework will be my first attempt at that. After a lot of reading on different topics, forums, wiki, etc... I decided to choose the combo Lua/Löve because it seemed really easy to use -even for a complete beginner- and because the community felt great, with lots of help and resources to guide your first steps. The fact that the combo is cross-platform and easy to implement on a Mac Osx without complicated workarounds finished to sell me the stuff.
I must add that I looked quite extensively through the forums to avoid asking already answered questions, but the answers I found weren't too helpful, or maybe weren't clear enough for me. So I'll ask what I need for here, if you don't mind.

I did the first Love tutorials and while it wasn't difficult to do the basic stuff ("Hello World" & basic functions, that I understood), I had the feeling that I was doing something blindly, not knowing the basics of programming or Lua. I really want to truly understand what I'm doing (and not copy pasta things), so I thought I might learn Lua first, to understand the basics of Love. Some useful links have been posted here, but I don't get a number of things:

- I know Love comes with its own version of Lua, but if I want to program Lua outside of Löve (to learn the basics of programming), should I install Lua language (or is it already installed with Löve) ?