I LÖVE it (Especially the ümelaut thingie)

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
knarF.se
Prole

I LÖVE it (Especially the ümelaut thingie)

Post by knarF.se »

Hellooo!

I'm quite new to LÖVE, And I'd guess Lua too (I've used it before, hosted it inside program and used Lua as more complex INI-files :ehem: ).

I re-discoverd the LÖVE site when I decided to make a simple game to encourage the young kids at the school where I live to actually learn programming at their IT-class instead of playing games (I'd guess this is kinda ironic). So I decided to download LÖVE and try it out, I guess that I would have gotten much further if I had taken my original plan and written most stuff in C++ as I'm used to do (I could probably written a few kLOC's in Assembler just because it's so fun).

But however, it is really fun to learn a new language and it's semantics. I was really determined to finish the product early today, so I could send it with my 11yrs old sister to show of and maybe get myself there to assist with their ‘IT-lessons’ (They're programming in Java, something that I've not touched since I were in their age - so I'm like “Uhm, I write like this in C++; So let's try if it works here too”). However, this time I failed to deliver on-time, because of several reasons.

First I believed that Lua was quite easy and not much to Learn, Fail! :P
I also believed that it was close to the semantics of JavaScript, I might be somewhat correct with that assessment, I still need to learn Lua for real.
I was like, yeah, it'll do it later - how hard can it be really? Well, when you don't understand the language, and you don't have any tools that watch your back so that you don't accidentally shoot yourself in your feet - then it might be quite difficult.