Card Game

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
tdc5013
Prole

Card Game

Post by tdc5013 »

Hey Guys,

I'm looking to make a small card game in Love and was looking for a few suggestions. I'm a pretty competent coder in pure Lua; but I've only really used Love once as part of my job training and have been meaning to come back to it and have a play around.

Basically, I have already coded a basic game framework. I have working Deck, Player, Rulebook, and Card classes (as well as a Constants class to hold all the card info -- the card class simply pulls in this information and creates a new instance of a Card Object. The way the card game works (Shithead - if anyone has ever played this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shithead_%28card_game%29) is that certain cards have certain properties. For instance, 10 will "burn" the in-game card pile (basically setting a CardPile table to nil). There are other properties like mirroring, forcing a player to go lower, etc. Coding in the effects of these cards is the simple part, the part I'm having trouble figuring out structurally is how to create this part of the game. I was thinking maybe with Enums but I'm not sure how I could link these up with the cards so that, say, if I was dealt a 10 card it would automatically have that "Burn" attribute.

Any ideas would be welcome :)

(1st post w00t)
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: Card Game

Post by Robin »

I think it depends heavily on the rest of your code. One way to do it would be to give Cards an "attributes" property, like:

Code: Select all

card10 = Card:new(10, 'heart') -- or how it works in your framework
card10.attributes.burn = true
card10.attributes.takeCards = 3
-- or whatever
I can't help you much further without seeing what you have right know.
Help us help you: attach a .love.
tdc5013
Prole

Post by tdc5013 »

Basically I'm creating cards (instantiated) using values in tables set up in constants, for instance:

Suit = {};
Suit[1] = Hearts;