How to make the player and enemy collide like they're solid?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
redsled
Prole

How to make the player and enemy collide like they're solid?

Post by redsled »

Yo, quite frankly I'm pretty new to this sort of stuff. As the usual, I've followed some of sockmunkee dev's tutorials, but those haven't really helped me build an "actual" game. I'm trying to make a small arcade game and I want it so the player and the enemy collide as solid objects. So that if the player runs into the enemy, the enemy bounces off almost. As of yet, if there is a way to do this with the implemented physics engine, I do not know how to do it. I've included the .love file and thanks a bunch.

PS: As I've said, I'm pretty new, so if you happen to provide a suggestion, please explain it to me like I'm a five year old.
Attachments
smash_em.love
alpha v0.000000000001
(740 Bytes) Downloaded 137 times
ivan
Party member

Re: How to make the player and enemy collide like they're so

Post by ivan »

If you only use axis aligned bounding boxes then it's a question of sorting/separation:

Code: Select all

-- checks for a collision between rectangles "a" and "b"
-- returns "nil" if there is no collision
-- returns the separation vector (sx,sy) if there is a collision
function checkcol(a, b)
  local x1,y1, w1,h1 = a.x,a.y, a.w/2, a.h/2
  local x2,y2, w2,h2 = b.x,b.y, b.w/2, b.h/2
  -- center points
  local c1x, c1y = x1 + w1, y1 + h1
  local c2x, c2y = x2 + w2, y2 + h2
  -- distance between centers
  local dx, dy = c2x - c1x, c2y - c1y
  local dxa, dya = math.abs(dx), math.abs(dy)
  -- overlap check
  local sw, sh = w1 + w2, h1 + h2
  if dxa >= sw or dya >= sh then return end
  -- separation
  local sx, sy = sw - dxa, sh - dya
  -- ignore the longer axis
  if sx > 0 and sy > 0 then
    if sx > sy then sx = 0 else sy = 0 end
  end
  -- preserve sign
  if dx < 0 then sx = -sx end
  if dy < 0 then sy = -sy end
  return sx, sy
end