New to coding and need help on Pong game

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
tuxranger
Prole

New to coding and need help on Pong game

Post by tuxranger »

Hi. I am very new to any coding at all and was wanting to start to learn to code and specifically attempt to make a video game but I need a little help. I decided to try and make a working version of pong as a starting project. I wrote the code from the love physics tutorial to start to learn how to do things in love. I then implemented what I learned from that into my pong game, but I've become stuck. I have a couple things that I need help on. First I need help with making it so that my paddles do not move on the x axis at all. As far as I understand I could use edges and block my paddles in with that but, if there is a more efficient way would someone be willing to help me there? Secondly I need help with programming the movement on the ball. Specifically in starting the ball's movement when it is at a standstill and having it bounce off the paddles and edges. If someone would be willing to help me out here that would be awesome and thanks very much in advance. ^.^

Here's what I have coded so far. http://pastebin.com/DyusjhQE
s-ol
Party member

Re: New to coding and need help on Pong game

Post by s-ol »

Using love.physics for a pong game is not only overkill, it's a very bad fit. You need at least three times the amount of code wrangling all the physics to act like you want compared to what the whole physics implementation would look like if you do it "by hand". There's a reason the notice atop of the love.physics wiki page reads:
love.physics is not lightweight, and not even remotely simple to use. It's a ten-ton hammer designed for heavy-lifting (er...hammer...lifting?)
If you are just trying to make a character jump around on blocks or the likes, then move along, nothing to see here.