What is your background?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
radgeRayden
Prole

What is your background?

Post by radgeRayden »

Hanging out on IRC I noticed a lot of people here is very knowledgeable, and most of the times can talk about stuff I only dream of getting good at (for now). So it got me curious: what kind of (educational or otherwise) background do you have? How did you learn all the awesome stuff you know?
s-ol
Party member

Re: What is your background?

Post by s-ol »

radgeRayden wrote:Hanging out on IRC I noticed a lot of people here is very knowledgeable, and most of the times can talk about stuff I only dream of getting good at (for now). So it got me curious: what kind of (educational or otherwise) background do you have? How did you learn all the awesome stuff you know?
I'm a college student (18) studying Game Design in the first semester. Nearly all my programming and computer knowledge is self-taught through practicing and reading on the internet. I had some CS lessons in school but those were mostly behind what I knew at the time (except for the theoretical parts which I never was too interested in). I've been wanting to know how to program almost as long as I can remember (always wanted to be an "inventor") :P When I started out first I was frustrated pretty quickly and didn't continue until an uncle who knew some PHP spent some time doing stuff with me, and after that I was mostly on my own and just kept going.

s-ol.nu /blog  -  p.s-ol.be /st8.lua  -  g.s-ol.be /gtglg /curcur

Code: Select all

print( type(love) )
if false then
  baby:hurt(me)
end
gomez
Citizen

Post by gomez »

radgeRayden wrote:Hanging out on IRC I noticed a lot of people here is very knowledgeable, and most of the times can talk about stuff I only dream of getting good at (for now). So it got me curious: what kind of (educational or otherwise) background do you have? How did you learn all the awesome stuff you know?