Is LOVE good enough?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Somni
Prole

Is LOVE good enough?

Post by Somni »

Hi, I am an illustrator, concept designer, and an aspiring game artist. For a long time, I have had an idea that I would love to bring to fruition. However, I am no programmer, nor do I have a clue how to start, or what to use. To see what I want to develop look below:

This is how I want the game to look like. Very atmospheric, very mystical and textured. The game will be an rpg game similar to the playing-style of the Pokemon games. You capture creatures, fight with them, and level them up.

I initially began using RPGmaker VX/XP to create this project, but a friend who was working with me suggested the LOVE engine. LOVE seems like a really promising engine, but I am a very visual person; I can't imagine how the program looks like because I have not really seen any finished games for it or how it works. I remember playing with the demos last year, but I'll have to try it again to see.

Anyways, I have developed several assets and environments for my game project, but I am not sure if they will work in the LOVE engine, because I do not know the full capacity of the engine. I see that it uses vector images, but what about non-vector images like pngs and jpgs? What about transparency within images? Basically, the game I want to develop requires a lot of custom scripting and programming which I have no skill in. All the maps will be custom made in Photoshop.

So, for all you LOVE developers and enthusiasts out there, do you guys think it is possible and efficient to make this kind of game with LOVE? Any tips and suggestions for how to start this game off?

You might ask: what kind of actions and programs will be going on in this game?

-walk up, down, left, right
-walk into doors and entrances
-there will be exterior and interior maps
-overlapping trees, buildings, objects; they overlap the character.