Avoiding OOP

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Madrayken
Party member

Avoiding OOP

Post by Madrayken »

I've been an OO coder for years, and am slowly learning to break the habits of decades. I'd like to ask you folks about your favorite way of creating a standard hierarchy of this form:

- you have a 'Monster' class. It navigates and shoots. It knows which other monster is the 'Player' Monster.
- you have a 'Map' class. It can give you info on getting from a) to b), what is in each map cell etc.

Now the standard way I'd have done this in the past would be to have a World class containing both Monsters and a Map. Each instance of a Monster or the Map would be passed a 'World' so that when a Monster needs to go from a) to b) it can access the Map via the world.

(Alternatively, knowing there's only one Map, you could just make it (cough) a global. I know, I know. At least wrap them in a table to aid encapsulation.)

What's your favourite way of getting classes like these to communicate while obeying encapsulation... in lua-ey, non-OO way?
Discord: https://discord.gg/tYfHgXc
Bandcamp: https://madrayken.bandcamp.com/
Twitter: @Fluttermind
Inny
Party member

Re: Avoiding OOP

Post by Inny »

Well, object oriented doesn't mean via classes, it just means you have an object that you can access properties on. Classes are just a way to build objects. Another way to build objects, is to just assign properties to an object you just came up with via lua's {} syntax.