problems with game state and clicking mouse

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
randy0428
Citizen

problems with game state and clicking mouse

Post by randy0428 »

This post is about 2 problems I’m having with a game I’m developing. I have attached the project directory as a .zip file.

I am an ESL teacher (English as a Second Language) in Brazil teaching English to native Portuguese speakers. This game is to be a listening exercise for the students. They will listen to an audio clip (which I may eventually add to the game, but not at this time) and then they will play this game.

The objective of the game is to complete the text of the audio clip. The game starts with the splash screen where they can choose to see instructions or start the game. When they start the game, they are shown the play screen which presents 3 sprites, each of which are “saying” something in a text balloon. The player clicks on the sprite they think is saying the first words of the text (in subsequent rounds they choose the next text).

If they choose the correct text, they get the correctClick screen which tells them they were correct and adds their selected text to the text box. There’s a button on this screen for them to click to continue playing, which increments the phrase and returns them to the joga (play) screen, This continues until all of the text is completed. (This game has 26 phrases to complete the text.) If they complete the text before making 3 mistakes, they win and this screen will tell them they’ve won and there will be buttons to either quit or play again.

If they choose the wrong sprite, they get a wrong answer screen, which tells them their answer was wrong and tells them how many more mistakes they can make (a total of 3) before they lose the game. If they’ve made 3 mistakes, this screen will tell them they’ve lost and there will be buttons to either quit or play again.