Looking for feedback on a Lua tutorial

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
davisdude
Party member

Looking for feedback on a Lua tutorial

Post by davisdude »

I'm starting a Lua tutorial and I'm looking for some feedback on how it could be improved. You can find it here.

Any feedback is welcome :)

Thanks
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
CaptainMaelstrom
Party member

Re: Looking for feedback on a Lua tutorial

Post by CaptainMaelstrom »

Thanks for writing. Seems like a pretty good tutorial.
On the whole, I prefer tutorials like this:
http://tylerneylon.com/a/learn-lua/

But then again, I've had previous programming experience. I still would think a complete beginner might benefit more from following along from a video on youtube. But if they have questions that aren't explained or prefer text (as I do), then your tutorial becomes a great resource.

Regardless, I'm sure you will get a good number of hits from Google searches on lua tutorials. Just from a cursory proofreading I noticed you spelled sentence as "sentance". Other than that, seems all good.
davisdude
Party member

Post by davisdude »

Thanks for that! I wouldv'e thought Vim spell would would've flagged* that as a a typo :P

I prefer tutorials like that as well, but I'm actually writing this for my brother, who knows next-to-nothing about programming.

* edit: Code tags don't get spell-check
Last edited by davisdude on Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GitHub | MLib - Math and shape intersections library | Walt - Animation library | Brady - Camera library with parallax scrolling | Vim-love-docs - Help files and syntax coloring for Vim
D0NM
Party member

Post by D0NM »

davisdude wrote: Sat Jul 01, 2017 1:23 am I'm actually writing this for my brother, who knows next-to-nothing about programming.\