How exactly should I learn

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
HolicGlide
Prole

How exactly should I learn

Post by HolicGlide »

Hello, Im an ultra noob in programming and just started learning .lua, which is around 2 weeks total of rewatching tutorials/doing my homework from my programmer-friend (who doesn't know anything about lua) like "make a program to solve me (some) equation". After I convinced myself that my language knowledge is enough to make a simple platformer game, I found the game engine I like - love2d.
And I have a problem right now. I don't know how to approach the learning process. I made a text-game based on another person's tutorial and I don't like it because I used a reference (even though I thought-out how scripts worked on my own and happy with that at least).
Here's the example:
Right now I'm trying to give animation of walking to my character and I'm lowkey depressed. I'm gonna make a sprite sheet (easy), understand "real quick" how exactly to use quads (hard), decide if I look for additional help when I'll get stuck (VERY HARD) while not being able to think of a way to make my character change to idle animation, or make him turn different directions and "blah-blah ugly code", I already know A LOT of things I'm gonna try are not going to work. :ultraglee:
  • I think I'm stupid (or bad memory, I can't remember/use things if I don't understand/get explained on how they work)
    I don't know if it's healthy to watch tutorials or look for hints if you're stuck
    Even though I may be a little slow in brain, I want to be able to think of things on my own
    I'm afraid that spending time on "inventing bicycle" like learning how to (make/do) (simple/obvious) things is just a waste of time and is going to wear me out. Or am I just making an excuse for my laziness?