iterating through a list for PolygonShape:getPoints()

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
samahin
Prole

iterating through a list for PolygonShape:getPoints()

Post by samahin »

Hi lovers.
I am a newb to Love2d and Lua, and am trying to make a game.
One aspect that I am currently wrestling with is how to make polygons for my world map.
I want to create polygons, and I also want to visualise them to help with my development/debugging.
[Edit: The reason to make polygons is to change the game depending on which polygon the character is located in. (I.e. if in a forest polygon, set a forest background, increase likelihood of encountering bears). This should also help prevent my character from walking into mountains and into lakes. The purpose of drawing is only to help me debug.]

Specifically, I don't understand how to use PolygonShape:getPoints() for a list of polygons. I can think of work-arounds, but I'd love to learn how to code neatly and efficiently. This seems like a good learning point.

Could someone kindly help me to make this code work? It is a simplified extract of my working main file.
This is my first post to the forums, so apologies if I haven't understood some fundamental things :)

Code: Select all

polygon1 = {434,101, 452,112, 420,138}
polygon2 = {377,84 ,434,101, 420,138, 380,140}
polygon3 = {434,101, 451,112, 420,138}
polygon4 = {420,138, 426,150, 452,112}
polygon5 = {426,150 ,452,112, 459,154, 420,190}
polygon6 = {452,112, 472,87, 459,154}
polygon_table = {polygon1,polygon2,polygon3,polygon4,polygon5,polygon6}
p = table.getn(polygon_table) -- p=number of polygons == 6

function love.load()
  -- set window screen: https://love2d.org/wiki/love.window.setMode
  love.window.setMode(800, 450, {resizable=true, vsync=false, minwidth=400, minheight=300})
  for i = 1,p do      -- (i=polygon number)