From Unity to Love

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
ChienBleu
Prole

From Unity to Love

Post by ChienBleu »

Hello everyone, I recently discovered this awesome framework that is Love2D and I want to share my experience as a heavy Unity3D user. It may not be interesting for a lot of people but this post would have interested me two months ago so let's go.
It is important to say that I'm a student, that does develop smallish-prototype games for the fun and the learn. My experience and goals are nowhere near that of a company that make games for a living but still we are all human beings after all. What is relevant to me should at least make an anecdote to you.

Why Unity?

Unity is an amazing framework. I was trying hard to create a chunk system in Game Maker convinced that creating more complex games was not for me when someone told me about Unity. Then everything became different. I had such control. No more drag and drop bullshit and beginner friendly concepts that drive you mad when you are no more a beginner. At this time I was still an intermediate programmer and learning C# with Unity was boosting my skills. I continued learning to make games on Unity for years, accumulating prototypes. Recently I managed to achieve making a small framework for adventure games. It is in fact an old-zelda-style view with procedural seamless chunk loading and autotiling system that let me change the tiles in game. Cool and good, I was also doing shaders and stuff.

Why Love?