Improving development cycle

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
hlship
Prole

Improving development cycle

Post by hlship »

I'm quite new to Love2D development but I'm having a touch of fun.

I'm used to developing with a REPL (in Clojure or ClojureScript), so I'm kind of used to starting a system and tinkering with it while it runs.

It would be great if love.app (I'm on Mac) had an option that would let it live-reload the game if it changes ... ideally, maintaining state but even just restarting would be nicer. I know there are some add-ons for this, but they are a bit limited and intrusive; this feels like something that could be done by Love itself more efficiently.

In addition, I'm developing in Fennel and generating .lua from that; I have a Makefile to hang it all together but its not ideal ... stack traces show mangled names. The Fennel folks are chatting about generating JavaScript style source maps and it would be outstanding if Love would take those into account when loading code.

I continue to be impressed by, and even daunted by, the great things put together by the community. I'm still making baby steps.
snowcat
Prole

Re: Improving development cycle

Post by snowcat »

Maintaining state perfectly across reloads is nearly impossible if you don't cooperate and write your code in a specific way. I don't know Fennel but I'd imagine functional programming in lua being close to the worst case, since anonymous generated functions are one of the biggest problems for hot reloading. OOP is terrible too, but at least you can write your classes in a way that allows hot reloading your base classes by simply loading the file again. You can't generally do that for anonymous functions that are being passed around.

You can call love.event.quit("restart") to restart love. Doesn't preserve state of course, but if the add-ons are too intrusive, maybe you can just put a button somewhere that calls this. That's what I like to do.