#Game State Machine# help required!!

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Master Malakai
Prole

#Game State Machine# help required!!

Post by Master Malakai »

So I pulled some code from a tutorial made by a fellah named Goature.

Here's the link to the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_OrFXy ... 1&index=15

Here's my giHub with current state of the "game": https://github.com/MasterMalakai/My-Basic-Game

So far it will load the mainMenu state and from there I can load the game, but I cannot return to the mainMenu state and I can't quite get my head around why. I'm new to all this so still learning but I I have been told that it has something to do with the fact I'm no longer in the 'root' directory.

Instead of the actual answer, maybe an explanation of the concept of what is happening here and the kinds of tools that I can use to work around it. I really would like to figure it out on my own.
milon
Party member

Re: #Game State Machine# help required!!

Post by milon »

Have you worked with multiple .lua files before? I'm thinking that's where the problem is. I haven't learned game states myself (working on it, LOL) but your main.lua file that's in the ZombieGame doesn't require any other files, which means it's not going to link things up properly. At least, when I ran your main.lua, nothing happened. I didn't try any of the other main.lua files. (FYI, I think convention is to only have one main.lua file, and the rest should be named according to what they do.)

Here's a small sample of how main.lua can call another file. It took me a while to really understand this, so take your time with it and ask questions! :)

This example involves 2 files placed in the same folder. The files are called main.lua and otherLuaFile.lua.

main.lua :

Code: Select all

function love.load()

-- include an external file
	-- note that the path is relative to this file
	-- also note that the .lua extension is NOT included