Moving from Brain Damage to love

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Mr. Strange
Party member

Moving from Brain Damage to love

Post by Mr. Strange »

Hey love(ly) people.

I'm a professional game designer, and I've recenly been using lua to prototype new concepts. I started using Brain Damage.exe, which was really a great tool, but is sadly sort of dead now. It also had slightly ghetto draw support, and no audio component.

So I'm looking at love, and I largely like what I see. But a few things aren't quite making sense, and I'd appreciate some help bringing myself up to speed.

1 - I see that my print messages go to stdout - but is there no way I could view them on-the-fly? I feel like maybe I'm missing something obvious here. I use trace messages all the time when starting work on a new routine, and I'm not sure I could function efficiently without them. It's entirely possible that there is an obvious way to display stdout.txt on the fly - but I don't know one.

2 - Is there a way to create multiple windows? Brain Damage allowed me to define individual onmouseup functions for each active window, which was pretty cool.

3 - I'm not sure how to quickly iterate on my files - right now I edit the .lua in TextPad, and I've defined an external command to trigger which runs love $FileDir - which is working pretty well. How do other people do this reasonably?

4 - I write game save output to text files, and I wonder how I could force those into a directory other than the one where love.exe is running?

I'm really excited to join the love community - I just need to clear a few more hurdles!

-- Mr. Strange
Jake
Prole

Re: Moving from Brain Damage to love

Post by Jake »