Pondering Keyframe Animation

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Candall
Prole

Pondering Keyframe Animation

Post by Candall »

Okay, folks. I've never programmed anything like this before, so I'd like to make sure that I'm on a sensible track before I get too many lines of useless code written.

I'm trying to set up a keyframe animation system. I already have a class set up for characters that will be using this system, and each character on the screen can and usually will have a different animation playing, so I have already come to the conclusion that the table of keyframes is going to need to be stored somewhere within the character class (my character class is called "yarnie").

And so, I have added the following to the "yarnie" table:

Code: Select all

yarnie.keylist={}
Now, my animation editor is basically an array of sliders. Adjusting each slider should create a new key inside the keylist table, but since the keyframe data contains both a frame number and a rotation amount, the new key must also be a table. So, if I were to go to frame 30 and adjust the head by 45 degrees and then go to frame 50 and adjust the front bicep by 90 degrees, I would end up with something like this:

yarnie.keylist= {
     fbicep= {
          1 {
               frame=50
               position=90
          }
     }
     head= {
          1= {
               frame=30
               position=45
          }
     }
}
After a couple of additional keyframes, it might look more like this:

yarnie.keylist= {
     fbicep= {
          1= {
               frame=50
               position=90
          }
          2= {
               frame=60
               position=80
          }
     }
     head= {
          1= {
               frame=30
               position=45
          }
          2= {
               frame=90
               position=90
          }
     }
}