Questions: Ragdoll Physics, XML and Lua Plugins

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Zenku
Prole

Questions: Ragdoll Physics, XML and Lua Plugins

Post by Zenku »

Hello there,

I'm new at game programming and I was wondering if you could help me with two things:

1-
I don't know much about Ragdoll Physics, and may be my question is not directly related with this, but...

The Ragdoll body is generated once the character is dead or the moving character is also a ragdoll? I mean, is the character always under the ragdoll physics? The character is a ragdoll always despite he is "alive"? if the character is a ragdoll, how do I manage to make it move? Do I have to move each ragdoll's components? (Like moving both legs for walking, I don't know)

2-
I would like to manage my tileset using XML, the thing is I never touched an XML so I don't know how is the better way of processing them. I think there should be some kind of plugin or module to help this process. But this takes me to another question...

3-
Is it possible to use Lua plugins with Love? For example I would like to zip some files from lua. Is it possible using love.exe?

Thanks in Advance,

Zenku
Take care of your thoughts because they'll become words
Take care of your words because they'll become acts
Take care of acts because they'll forge your character
Take care of character because it'll determine your destiny
and your destiny ll be your life
kikito
Inner party member

Re: Questions: Ragdoll Physics, XML and Lua Plugins

Post by kikito »

Hi Zenku, welcome!

I will try to answer your questions the best I can: