Halp!

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Gromlick
Prole

Halp!

Post by Gromlick »

Alright, so to briefly preface myself (this being my first post here) before I get into my stupid question, I thought I might just say hi. :)

I'm not much of a programmer, be it from inexperience or natural failure of mental capacity, and I wouldn't go about claiming I was anyway. I like to think of myself more as a wannabe designer who can write just enough code to be able to claim to know basically what code is. I'm faaaaar more interested in aesthetics, and game design, and other high-end things. If programming was where my heart was, I probably would have written my own engine, after all. ^_^ I'm pretty new to Lua, and I only found LOVE a few weeks ago.

So! On to my stupid question for the day. I've been working on a little game for the past few weeks, and I sorta wanted to show it to some people who might be able to give me a smidge of input. My problem, is that I have no idea how to compile my work into one little .LOVE file I can post up here for you guys to see. :(

On the subject, I really want to see the source code some of you guys are using in the things you've posted, how can I look at that?

Again, I want to apologize for what must be a very stupid question, but I can't find my answers anywhere on the site... am I just bad at looking?
Damnae
Prole

Re: Halp!

Post by Damnae »

A .love is just a renamed .zip in fact =)
Gromlick
Prole

Post by Gromlick »

So I just need to put everything into a zip, and rename it .love?

Doe that include love.exe?

I'ma give this a try.
Damnae
Prole

Post by Damnae »

Once you've got your .love, to make a .exe, you need to put the love.exe in the same directory, and do:

Code: Select all

copy /b love.exe + yourgamename.love yourgamename.exe 
(for windows)