Newbie here gonna start out small

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
mrpoptart
Prole

Newbie here gonna start out small

Post by mrpoptart »

Hello all. I am a very big newbie to Love and these forums. I have used LUA before with a game called Tibia. Use to run ot servers of tibia all the time. I have a small knowledge of LUA, but having used it before, shouldn't be that hard to pick up on.

I plan to start small by making a "defend the base game". It sounds simple in my head but i know it will get worse lmao. I have been reading the wiki, the LUA online book, and i have downloaded some games here and looked at the source code to give me an idea of what has to go on (non of your code will be used for this project, simply looked to see to how stuff worked). So i guess ill get started with some graphics and my main.lua and see how it goes.
BlackBulletIV
Inner party member

Re: Newbie here gonna start out small

Post by BlackBulletIV »

Welcome! Good to hear someone new is not starting on some big epic game :).
mrpoptart wrote:non of your code will be used for this project, simply looked to see to how stuff worked
By all means, feel free to use the code we post! That is, unless there's an explicit license saying you can't, which I've never seen.
mrpoptart
Prole

Post by mrpoptart »

Well thats great to hear. I am having some trouble making my sprites for the game. If you have an editor suggestion it would be great. Thanks for your support and i hope i can make this game and then start on something more in depth.
Robin
The Omniscient

Post by Robin »

BlackBulletIV wrote:
mrpoptart wrote:non of your code will be used for this project, simply looked to see to how stuff worked
By all means, feel free to use the code we post! That is, unless there's an explicit license saying you can't, which I've never seen.