Equipment bugs

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lacotemale
Citizen
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:01 pm

Equipment bugs

Post by Lacotemale »

Hi all,

I've a few annoying bugs with my game currently which has been driving me crazy. xD So here we go:

1. Press M key, now press Spacebar on an item this will bring up the action menu bottom right. Next press spacebar on anything but the Equip entry. Now press down on the keyboard and notice it will still have the item equipped. Despite not pressing on Equip. =/

2. Using the arrows move around and pickup items. Now try Equipping lots of them. The weapons, shields, helms etc all have a correct place to go but sometimes they go in the wrong place. Why?

Would appreciate help on the above if someone can figure it out.
WhiteGuardian.love
(1.82 MiB) Downloaded 131 times
User avatar
tjohnman
Prole
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:40 am

Re: Equipment bugs

Post by tjohnman »

Is it supposed to render like this?
Image
User avatar
Lacotemale
Citizen
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:01 pm

Re: Equipment bugs

Post by Lacotemale »

No the items are usually spread apart. :S ... the white boxes are the collision boxes so that is normal.

I might need to upload a new version... thats weird.
Muris
Party member
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:18 am

Re: Equipment bugs

Post by Muris »

I think the culpirit is somewhere here in menu.lua

Code: Select all

            if inventory[itemSelectedPos].attack > 0 and inventory[itemSelectedPos].attack ~= nil then
                table.insert(party[1].equipment,1, inventory[itemSelectedPos])
                print(party[1].equipment[1].name)
            end
It looks like you equip the item the moment you select the item in the inventory, where as it should just mark the item "to be inspected". So it doesn't equip it even if you press info.
User avatar
Lacotemale
Citizen
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:01 pm

Re: Equipment bugs

Post by Lacotemale »

Ah that looks like the issue. Thanks Muris!

In relation to the items displaying weird. I broke something in my latest build. Found it though. I'll update when I've tried what Muris was saying first.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests