Help tracking down an error in spritebatch

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Imaculata
Party member

Help tracking down an error in spritebatch

Post by Imaculata »

I'm relatively new to coding, and I've just started on a simple Zelda clone in LOVE. I used one of the code examples from this tutorial, to create this bit of code here:
function setupMap() --Called upon loading the game

--the level layout
--This is the system of inter connecting rooms and the prefab tile sets that each room uses.

levelWidth = 5 + love.math.random(0,15)
levelHeight = 5 + love.math.random(0,15)

--The tile map, is all the tiles that makes up the randomly regenerated map
--An average dungeon screen should be 16x12tiles, leaving room for the interface at the top

mapWidth = 16 * levelWidth --levelWidth is always 5 rooms or larger
mapHeight = 12 * levelHeight --levelHeight is always 5 rooms or larger
mapScrollSpeed = 0.1

--Here is where we load the map
map = {}
for x=1,mapWidth do
map[x] = {}
for y=1,mapHeight do
map[x][y] = 118
end
end
end

function setupTileset() --Called upon loading the game
--This is a modifed version of the original script from the tutorial. I've removed all the copy-paste stuff, and tried to make the game load all the tiles automatically, based on how big the tilesheet is.

tilesetImage:setFilter("nearest", "linear") -- this "linear filter" removes some artefacts if we were to scale the tiles
sheetSize = {math.floor(tilesetImage:getWidth() /64), math.floor(tilesetImage:getHeight() /64)}

--Add the blank tile in the null position
tileQuads[0] = love.graphics.newQuad(16 * tileSize, 0 * tileSize, tileSize, tileSize, tilesetImage:getWidth(), tilesetImage:getHeight())
--Cache all the tiles on the spritesheet
for y=1,sheetSize[2] do
for x=1,sheetSize[1] do