Isometric game collision

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Nqss
Prole

Isometric game collision

Post by Nqss »

Hello everyone, i searched through forums and couldn't find a solution
Maybe i searched not that good.
And yes, im not that experienced yet, thats why i took Love2d to get all basic understanding for the game coding.

Im not going to make a platformer, just top-side (isometric) quest-like game (detective actualy) with 8 possible directions of movement.
So i came to the point when i need to put some collision to what i have. But what i could find is that you draw boxes with position x, y and width height. Which doesn't work with isometric view that much. So i thought that, Either i would need to create 3-4 collision boxes for each tile (which is alot) or i could manage a mind-screwing task of creating collision map, which would work as a top-down map for the isometric view and would provide collision blocks in needed places (So when characters moves around, his movement is doubled at that collision map and collision counts there). Addtionally this would manage collision array, which would be x1.5 of tile map array.

Is there any way to create angled collision boxes ? Or solution for this type of thing?
ivan
Party member

Re: Isometric game collision

Post by ivan »

Ok, so you don't need to have "tilted" collision boxes at all.
Just use axis-aligned rectangles then render them as an isometric tiles.
My point it, your collision code should NOT be dictated by the rendering projection you are using.
You want to keep your rendering and game logic independent of each other.

Now if you want to convert mouse coordinates to isometric grid coordinates that's a little more complicated.
Nqss
Prole

Post by Nqss »

ivan wrote:Ok, so you don't need to have "tilted" collision boxes at all.