[solved] Referencing game object from collision detection shape

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
OnACoffeeBreak
Prole

[solved] Referencing game object from collision detection shape

Post by OnACoffeeBreak »

I'm new to Lua and I am new to gamedev... I have a base class for all visible game objects that handles some of the update and all of drawing that covers screen wrapping. I am trying to use HardonCollider (HC) to improve collision detection. The base GameObject class constructor is passed a global HC instance. The GameObject constructor creates a rectangular collision detection shape in HC that matches the position, dimensions and rotation of the GameObject image that is also passed into the constructor.

So, now all of my game objects have a collision detection polygon overlaid (invisibly) on top of the images. Great!

The problem is that HC doesn't know anything about my game objects. All it knows about are collision detection shapes that have been created in its spacial hash by game objects. Collision detection is done in the main file similar to this:

Code: Select all

-- check for collisions
for shape, delta in pairs(HC.collisions(player.collisionShape)) do
	-- How do I get from shape to a GameObject that has this shape 
	-- so that I can remove the GameObject from a table of enemies
end
... as the comment says, how do I find which GameObject instance to remove from a table of active enemies based on the shape returned by HC?

I can search through the table of active enemies looking for a collision shape with the same coords as the shape returned by HC. That seems slow.