Can't Get Files of Desktop with LOVE2D

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
BukkitmanMC
Prole

Can't Get Files of Desktop with LOVE2D

Post by BukkitmanMC »

Hey There! I am new to the LOVE Forums even though I have programmed with this Library before, so I am pretty used to it :crazy: ! However, Right now, I am working on a game using this framework, and it supposed to access the files of your Desktop! however every string says "nil" in the files!. Also, when I ask it to print out an entire table, it only shows some stuff I don't understand like: "table: 0x03059638" :x ! can you figure out why it does that? if yes, thanks!

The Code of the only file that really has something, since I can't figure out how to add a file:

Code: Select all

function love.load()
  require "player" -- Not Really Anything Right Now

-- Lets add Some Variables!
  -- Some Directory Suff first for Variables...
  DesktopDirectory = love.filesystem.getUserDirectory().."Desktop"
  DesktopFiles = love.filesystem.getDirectoryItems(DesktopDirectory)

-- These are the Images!
  images = {
    background = love.graphics.newImage("gfx/desktop.png")
  }

players = {player.new(10, 10, 10, 10, "gfx/stickman.png", true)}

print(DesktopFiles)
end

function love.update(dt)

end

function love.draw()
  love.graphics.draw(images.background)
end
pedrosgali
Party member

Re: Can't Get Files of Desktop with LOVE2D

Post by pedrosgali »

You are trying to print a table, that's why it says 'tableX0...'. Try

for k in pairs(desktopFiles) do
  print(desktopFiles[k])
end
Don't think love can read from your desktop though without using FFI. I've not used it before, maybe someone else can help with that. :)

if not wearTheseGlasses() then
  chewing_on_trashcan = true
end
zorg
Party member

Post by zorg »

Löve has three ways to do filesystem stuff: