love - supporting multiple directories

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
hlship
Prole

love - supporting multiple directories

Post by hlship »

I'm just getting started with Love2D, but I see the need for the love command to accept multiple directories, rather than just a single one.

I'd like to see these directories as a prioritized search order.

Why?

First: in local development, I may want to add some libraries to the mix that I don't want in my released game, such as cupid.
So I could put cupid and a for-development version of conf.lua in a dev directory, and everything else in a src directory, then invoke as "love dev src" to run my game; I actually have a tiny Makefile for running things.

Second: I'm also starting to experiment with using MoonScript. Here, I might want to have .moon files in my src folder compiled to an out folder, and I'll want that out folder visible when loading libraries.

Thoughts?
zorg
Party member

Re: love - supporting multiple directories

Post by zorg »

Yes. Use Git. That provides versioning.

Edit: Wow did i misread what you wanted; okay, so:

As Azhukar said, the arg table does contain all the parameters you pass in to löve from the commandline, there's technically no difference between the first parameter used to locate the folder where your main.lua resides and the rest of the params one would supply.

That solves the uncertainty about the cmdline params, now for the folder thing:
Löve doesn't allow neither write nor read access to folders outside the project's root directory (where your main.lua is), and the save folder you set, by default.
That said, you can do a few things:
1. You can get read access to other places if you drop a folder into your project, which will invoke the directorydropped callback.