Saving files in game directory

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
RednibCoding
Prole

Saving files in game directory

Post by RednibCoding »

Hello guys,

im new to love (but not new to programming and game development) and i was wondering how i can save files into the game directory. Lets say i want to make a game/scene/map editor for my game for faster development and want to save the created scenes/maps in the scenes/map directory of the game from the editor. Also i want the game to load them when needed with the same load routine the editor uses from the scene/map directory.
Basically, how you do it in ANY OTHER game engine/framework what ever. :)
But love only alows you to save files to %appdata%. Thats pretty dumb because when you publish your game, you want all the game resources including map and scene files to be in your games directory. So the scene and map files has to go into the game's scene/map directory. Ontop of that, love blockes the usage of the standard lua io.

I've postet my tilemap and scene lib on github so you can see what i mean.
https://github.com/RednibCoding?tab=repositories

Hope someone can help me as im a bit confused by that.

Thanks
zorg
Party member

Re: Saving files in game directory

Post by zorg »

RednibCoding wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:50 pmim new to love (but not new to programming and game development) and i was wondering how i can save files into the game directory.
That's a tricky question for a few reasons; the basic answer would be that you can't do that with love.filesystem functions.
RednibCoding wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:50 pmLets say i want to make a game/scene/map editor for my game for faster development and want to save the created scenes/maps in the scenes/map directory of the game from the editor.