Problem with GetColor...

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Kisra
Prole

Problem with GetColor...

Post by Kisra »

Hi,

I am new to game development and am trying to make a game which does a simple task: a player touches an object and receives a point. I am using GetColor for collision detection (please do not recommend a different method). Example of my code:

if love.keyboard.isDown("s") then
p1y=p1y + 1
r, g, b = love.graphics.getColor(p1x, p1y+(1))
end
if r==0 and b==0 and g==0 then
score=score+1
leftpupy=love.math.random(40, HEIGHT)
leftpupx=love.math.random(0, MID_WIDTH)
rightpupy=love.math.random(40, HEIGHT)
rightpupx=love.math.random(MID_WIDTH, WIDTH)
end

So as you can see, the purpose is to check the next pixel in the direction the player sprite is moving to see if that pixel is the color of the object sprite, and if it is the score goes up by 1 and new objects are spawned. However, no matter what I do, the getColor methods ONLY return white (255, 255, 255). Doesn't matter what color the background is set to, or what color the sprite is, or how many pixels ahead the getColor checks. I am truly stumped.
WetDesertRock
Citizen

Re: Problem with GetColor...

Post by WetDesertRock »

getColor doesn't take any arguments (as the wiki indicates). The only thing getColor does is gets you the color of the last "setColor" call.

This appears to do what you want: https://love2d.org/wiki/Canvas:getPixel
Sasha264
Party member

Post by Sasha264 »

Kisra, welcome! :awesome:

love.graphics.getColor() is not that you are looking for. It just returns your "paint brush" color, not screen pixel color.
If you want to get the color of the pixel on screen you can replace this:

Code: Select all

r, g, b = love.graphics.getColor(p1x, p1y+(1))
to this:

local screenshot = love.graphics.newScreenshot()
local r, g, b, a = screenshot:getPixel(p1x, p1y+1)