How do 3D?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Guard13007
Party member

How do 3D?

Post by Guard13007 »

After 11.0 was announced, I thought docs would pop up on the wiki pretty quickly explaining how to do 3D stuff, but it seems that either the way it works is via tricks I am completely unfamiliar with, or it's just not documented yet.

Can anyone ELI5 for me? I have very little knowledge within 3D. I'm okay with 2D, but I don't know how to even begin with 3D.
pgimeno
Party member

Re: How do 3D?

Post by pgimeno »

That topic was discussed in another thread, starting here: viewtopic.php?p=218844#p218844

If you keep reading, I posted a couple demos there, the second of which is a pretty simple 3D projection library (too simple to be usable for doing actual 3D though, but hopefully usable as a learning tool for understanding the concepts).
Guard13007
Party member

Post by Guard13007 »

I saw that thread, but didn't glean much from it. I can look for the demos posted there and examine source, but I was hoping there was a resource that attempted to explain things without me having to reverse engineer code.
pgimeno
Party member

Post by pgimeno »

Well, the gist of it is to create a mesh (or more, depending on how many textures you need) that has full 3D data, then a vertex shader that accepts an extern (uniform) matrix rather than using LÖVE's built-in one. You build the matrix, pass it to the shader, and draw the mesh. How to build the matrix is a bit tricky, but it's the same for every OpenGL application so there's plenty of info online.

For doing things properly, you also need to enable backface culling and a depth buffer, which are the new features that LÖVE 11.0 adds to allow working with 3D, but I haven't tried to do that yet.
Guard13007
Party member

Post by Guard13007 »