Button Library Review

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
JJSax
Prole

Button Library Review

Post by JJSax »

Hi everyone, This looks a little longer than it is. About halfway down you'll see future stuff I plan in case it will help but it's not necessary to read. Just trying to save you some time.

This is my first time really diving into metatables. I wanted to make a button library that fits my needs better than what I've found so far (not to say the other ones I've found are bad). I would like to get a second opinion on it's development so far so I don't go too far off track, and fix issues earlier. Also should I make a native menu type button that has a drop down function or leave that to the user?

My goals for the library are to make it easy to use, functional, and easy on the computer and flexible.
I'm not so sure it's as easy as I'd like it to be, as the user has tons of functions to call to get it perfect, but I'm not sure the best way to solve it. See my main.lua. I did already make it possible to do things like set all the button states (selected, not selected, hovered, not hovered etc) with one function. Also anytime they want to update/draw a button they have to put it in the love.update/draw functions.

basic usage

Code: Select all

button = require("button")
function love.load()
	button1 = button.newRectangleButton(20,20,100,100) -- creates a new button at x = 20, y = 20 and it's dimensions are 100/100
	button1:setText("Button!", true) -- sets all button state text to "Button!"
	button1:setColor({0.5,0.5,1,1}, true) -- sets the button main color for all states
	-- button1:setImage(string imagePath[, bool allStates]) makes it so you can make your button an image instead
	button1:setOutlineColor({1,0,0,1}, true) -- sets the outline color for all button states