If statement and Goto

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Bowlman
Prole

If statement and Goto

Post by Bowlman »

Im new with Love2d, and I have just tried it out for few days. I have some coding experiences from the past. More of the basic kind Id say. I feel like Love2d is pretty cool and could be something long run for me. I just need to get hang of things. So. Now I try to get the idea about Gotos and Ifs. Gotos are just way to jump from here to there. Thats how Im use to think about some of the logic. Like when the game is over and you need to goto start and start all over. Zeroing variables, reload the level etc. But thats not how it works here I guess? I got the goto to work, but only inside functions. So how should I think about it? I have tried to look all kind of tutorials I could find. But some times they are not very clear =(.

Other thing people seems to say that you suppost to avoid "if" statements. Like if state = 1 then do all these things, then when its 2 then you do this other things. There seems to be some state of stateful thing I think I suppost to use, but I just dont get it. I try to make small game and learn basics. I want to learn all the good habbits from the start. Or more like how to think code. How to think alot of small things tied together. Also I feel like there is not very good and clear tutorials about Love2d. There are some, but from those, I find that only few are okey-ish. And they seems to just go really basics. Id love to hear tips from good tutorials and guides. I think Love2d is great and I like it so far. I just want to learn some more and see what I can do about it. Thanks.
pgimeno
Party member

Re: If statement and Goto

Post by pgimeno »