LOVE:Snake

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Jon93
Prole

LOVE:Snake

Post by Jon93 »

Hey guys,

I'm very new to Lua, and just started experimenting with LOVE today. I've spend a while trying to brain storm how to do a "Snake" game in LOVE, but I have come up stumped.

My idea is that I make an animation with the snake growing as it gets in contact with the "food", and just having it go frame by frame as you touched more "food". But I am at a loss on how to do that, and as I said before I'm quite new to Lua, so my lack of experience is a factor too.

Another issue is detecting when the snake touches his "tail" and ending the game.

Any pushes in the right direction are greatly appreciated :D .
Xfcn
Citizen

Re: LOVE:Snake

Post by Xfcn »

That's a tall order, honestly. Before I go through a lot of effort, how much previous programming experience do you have? Am I teaching you things from the ground up or are you already familiar with Cartesian coordinates and array variables? It's pretty important to what I wind up putting here.
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." - Arthur C. Clarke
qubodup
Inner party member

Post by qubodup »

I started creating some hints, but then realized that I probably would use an unclean style, so I now started to implement a snake game to make sure my game logic design makes sense.

This is the only image that has survived:
path3432.png
path3432.png (8.73 KiB) Viewed 11396 times
lg.newImage("cat.png") -- made possible by lg = love.graphics
-- Don't force fullscreen (it frustrates those who want to try your game real quick) -- Develop for 1280x720 (so people can make HD videos)
Jon93
Prole

Post by Jon93 »