Need some help with OOP and clean coding

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
SudoCode
Citizen

Need some help with OOP and clean coding

Post by SudoCode »

I'm pretty new to OOP but I understand the basic concepts. I'm just wondering if I'm using objects in an optimal manner in terms of making my code modular and easy to modify or add to. If anyone could take a look through it and give me a few pointers it would be appreciated.

Also, increasing the speed at which my player moves only seems to have an effect in specific increments (i.e. increasing Player.speed from 1 to 100 has no effect, but as soon as you increase it from 100 to 101, the player moves noticeably faster). I essentially copy-pasted it from an earlier version of this .love which wasn't using middleclass and it worked fine without it. Player.speed is set to 50 by default in the .love that is attached, and pressing left shift makes the player sprint, increasing movement speed by twenty percent, but not having any actual effect on movement.

Thanks for any help.
Attachments
New.love
(425.97 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
kikito
Inner party member

Re: Need some help with OOP and clean coding

Post by kikito »

Hi there!
I'm just wondering if I'm using objects in an optimal
Well, that's a bit of engineering's dirty secret. There is no such thing as Optimal Code. At least not in absolute terms. It is very rare that a piece of code is just "better" than another piece of code. It is usually better "according to certain criteria".

That's because good code is about tradeoffs. A simple example: you have a version of a function that does a simple thing (say, move the player around) in a very simple way. Then you have another option which is very flexible, but adds lots of complexity to the code. Which one is better?