2d Racing Game Development

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
shanesemler
Prole

2d Racing Game Development

Post by shanesemler »

Hello, my name is Shane and I've been lurking around here for a while. The community is friendly, exciting and cool! Though I'm not a programmer (I'm an artist and musician), I think I have a pretty good idea of the capabilities of the LÖVE engine. I'm developing concepts for a 2d racing game. I haven't decided if I want to go 2d with pseudo-3d mode 7 style graphics or a 2.5d game (3d graphics with 2d physics, I know LÖVE isn't a 3d engine, I'm just saying). LÖVE seems alot easier to work with than a 3d engine but as I said, I'm no coder. I'd really rather do this 2d as I think that the 2d racing genre was abandoned too soon in the rush to 3d. Super Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix is a great example of how amazing modern HD quality graphics in a 2d game can be.

I have worked on a open source game project before, Death Illustrated. It was a FPS. I did a tile set, 3d model and music for it. I've also toyed with graphics for Morrowind, Quake and some others. I'm hoping to go a bit further with this project though. I'm hoping to take it commercial. I'm not looking to make millions (haha) but as a (hopefully) interesting little indie title for sale, it might make a few bucks if it turns out good.

I've done alot of work on this and the end is nowhere in sight as I'm planning on doing both the graphics and audio/music so this is, at the very least, a two person project. This is just the preliminary concept work, lots to be done yet and nothing is set in stone so there's plenty of room for input from prospective collaborators. Please have a look at the stuff on my blog and let me know in this thread if any of you are interested: http://shanesemler.blogspot.com/
qubodup
Inner party member

Re: 2d Racing Game Development

Post by qubodup »

Hello!