StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
jjmafiae
Party member
Posts: 1331
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:22 am

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by jjmafiae » Sun Dec 22, 2013 11:03 am

is it possible to make it generate a .deb?

User avatar
conroy
Prole
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by conroy » Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:51 pm

jjmafiae wrote:is it possible to make it generate a .deb?
Not yet, although I'm thinking of adding it. I'm deciding between generating a .deb or actually hosting a repository so that package managers (such as apt-get) can install it. The only issue there is that the automatic updates should probably come through the package manager instead of the game.

Zarty55
Citizen
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:36 am

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by Zarty55 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:20 pm

It's giving out a "Whoops" when I try to create a new game or see one that already exists. :/

User avatar
MZ|One
Citizen
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:37 am

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by MZ|One » Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:41 pm

This looks awesome! But I also get the Whooops! page when I try to create a new game.

User avatar
conroy
Prole
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by conroy » Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:25 pm

Thanks for the heads up everyone! I'm looking into the problem right now. Once it's fixed I'll have a full report on what happened.

User avatar
conroy
Prole
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by conroy » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:43 am

Alright, I've fixed the bug. You should now be able to create new games and releases. I'm so sorry about the downtime. I know how much time and effort you spend on your games, and this level of downtime isn't acceptable.

So, what happened?

I added a new column to a database table and forgot to run the database migration on the production database. When anyone tried to create a release for their game, the site returned a 500 error. I have application monitoring, so that I get an alert the instant any error happens. However, I was running an older version of the monitoring software which had a bug, preventing the reports from being sent. Since they weren't sent, I didn't know there was a problem.

Why this won't happen again

- An automated step in the deployment process has been added to make sure that database migrations are up to date
- The monitoring software has been updated to the latest version and I've confirmed it's working.
- I've replaced the "Whoops" page with a page that allows you to easily reach out to me and report a problem

User avatar
MZ|One
Citizen
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 8:37 am

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by MZ|One » Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:27 pm

Don't sweat it, that's beta! I tested with a simple app, and it works brilliant now. I love both the stats and the auto-updates, and it is also very intuitive to use. Couple remarks:

> I would really like to use my own release version numbers.

> I think that it would make more sense not to include the version number in the name of the zip produced by SM. It is confusing to download a zip archive that's called 'Game-win-0.1.0' and have that contain a launcher that auto-updates to the latest version.

> Sometimes when the launcher downloads the new version, I get a Windows 'File cannot be found' popup; I think it happens when I run the launcher from a path that contains a space. I can see a Windows command console in the back. For example:

When I run C:\...\Desktop\fps-test-win-0.1.0\FPS Test\fps-test.exe, when the download completes, I get a Windows error: File cannot be found: 'C:\...\Desktop\fps-test-win-0.1.0\FPS'. When I run the exe one more time, it launches the latest version.

When I run: C:\...\Desktop\fps-test-win-0.1.0\FPSTest\fps-test.exe, it works OK.

Keep up the excellent work! This looks awesome, and I'll be happy to use it soon.

User avatar
conroy
Prole
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by conroy » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:58 am

MZ|One wrote:I would really like to use my own release version numbers.
You're not the only one. This is going to the top of the list (as it's a pretty easy feature to add).
MZ|One wrote:I think that it would make more sense not to include the version number in the name of the zip produced by SM. It is confusing to download a zip archive that's called 'Game-win-0.1.0' and have that contain a launcher that auto-updates to the latest version.
Good point. The version number is already in the URL, so that should be good enough.
MZ|One wrote:Sometimes when the launcher downloads the new version, I get a Windows 'File cannot be found' popup; I think it happens when I run the launcher from a path that contains a space. I can see a Windows command console in the back.
Thanks for the bug report. I've pushed a fixed. Note that this was a bug in the client code, so those older clients won't be able to successful update :/

User avatar
conroy
Prole
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by conroy » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:07 am

Hey everybody, I'm excited to announce that StackMachine now supports custom icons, splash screens, and release versions. You can upload any icon or splash screen that you'd like. Many of you also wanted to choose the version number for a specific release, so I added that as well.

Happy Hacking!

jjmafiae
Party member
Posts: 1331
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:22 am

Re: StackMachine: Build pipline for LÖVE games

Post by jjmafiae » Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:27 pm

Will this support android at some point?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests