Trail Meshes

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
Spyro
Prole

Trail Meshes

Post by Spyro »

Well, I have been seeing many others creating trails using the particle systems that LOVE2D has provided, but what I seen in some other games is that they use a ribbon type of mesh that gets created. Basically what I wanted to share is similar to this using the new version of LOVE2D (0.9.0). Not sure if anyone else has made one yet.

Settings:
(x, y, image, width of trail/ribbon, trail lifetime, interval (how "detailed" the trail is), method ("stretch" default, "repeat"))
or you can look at the file itself to see how it works

I'm still new to this so if the script is quite dirty, please tell me if there is a was to optimize it, math is still fresh in my mind since I'm still in school so I might understand what you may say. Also I am trying to understand classes more, I'm used to python.
Attachments
Trailmesh.love
(3.76 KiB) Downloaded 543 times
NightKawata
Party member

Re: Trail Meshes

Post by NightKawata »

Very nice.

Just an image if anyone wanted to see what this looked like.
"I view Python for game usage about the same as going fishing with a stick of dynamite. It will do the job but it's big, noisy, you'll probably get soaking wet and you've still got to get the damn fish out of the water." -taylor
Spyro
Prole

Post by Spyro »

Yea, that is how it looks like. If he would have moved the mouse faster you would see the little things that orbit the circle follow the same behavior. My only problem is the overlapping where you can see lighter parts an random cuts when you stop for a moment then move again.

To me I think it would look better when used with a game that has some sort of physics. (either one made up or used by the 2d box physics engine) instead of something that is... well, stiff like the mouse.
R-BG
Prole

Post by R-BG »

I'm using this in my game. Thank you very much.
Taehl
Dreaming in associative arrays