My Adventure Game Engine - Making Way For Adventure Engine 2

Showcase your libraries, tools and other projects that help your fellow love users.
User avatar
napco
Party member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Ital... ehm...

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by napco » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:19 am

The trees... Eh... Maybe you should work on them a little bit... My processor is Intel Centrino!

User avatar
Evil Telephone
Prole
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by Evil Telephone » Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:54 pm

Wow, this is great! Very solid for such an early build. Runs real smooth.

Pressing 'D' crashes the game for me though. I wonder why that is.

pedrooliveira
Prole
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 9:51 pm
Location: Brasil - Nova Iguaçu - Rio de Janeiro
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by pedrooliveira » Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:14 pm

what's up man. It's great congratulations :o
Humildade sempre e Deus no coração.

Humildade always and god in the heart.

User avatar
Jasoco
Inner party member
Posts: 3650
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by Jasoco » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:12 am

Evil Telephone wrote:Pressing 'D' crashes the game for me though. I wonder why that is.
Weird. D turns on the debug text.

Is it a LÖVE crash with a blue screen or an actual application crash where the game disappears and Windows/OS X says "Oops! The program has crashed!"?

What OS are you on? I'd like to get more info. It might help me. Though it might be more concerning to rude and the gang. If it's a LÖVE crash, let me know the message. If it's an app crash, tell me any info you can. Your OS would probably have a crash log somewhere. OS X has them in the Console, but Windows, I dunno.

Glad I turned Debug off by default then. ;)

Has anyone else tried the Debug feature? Did it crash for you too? I have not tested this game myself on Windows.

User avatar
TechnoCat
Inner party member
Posts: 1611
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:31 am
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by TechnoCat » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:06 am

Debug crashes me.
It just goes to an immediate crash.
Windows XP SP3

User avatar
napco
Party member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Ital... ehm...

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by napco » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:14 am

It crashes also on vista. A crash, not an error. (LOVE has stopped working... Windows is trying to... ecc...) I dunno what can it be. Maybe i'll give a look to he debug code...

User avatar
Jasoco
Inner party member
Posts: 3650
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by Jasoco » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:31 am

I commented every line or function that has to do with Debug text with the word DEBUG so search for that word.

User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by Robin » Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:59 am

Odd... it doesn't crash for me on Linux (Xubuntu 8.10, to be exact).
Help us help you: attach a .love.

User avatar
napco
Party member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:28 pm
Location: Ital... ehm...

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by napco » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:40 am

There isn't anything wrong in your code! I've tried to change the reserved word "debug" with debugg, but the result is the same... I can't understand the reason it crashes! But, if i'm not wrong, the DEBUG should be used only by you, and on your OS X it works pretty well, so...

User avatar
Jasoco
Inner party member
Posts: 3650
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: My Zelda style adventure engine (DEMO NOW AVAILABLE)

Post by Jasoco » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:52 am

So it looks so far like the general consensus is Windows has a bug. But it's weird as I don't use anything in the debug parts that I don't use elsewhere. The font is a GIF that I use for the title screen copyright. All the rest is just text that draws over the screen, or colored rectangles that show the hotzones, but I use text and rectangles everywhere else. So it has to be a variable.

When are you activating the debug? In the menu or in the game?

I'll test it myself when I can get to a Windows machine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests