Vectors for a dummie

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Zulsorai
Prole

Vectors for a dummie

Post by Zulsorai »

Recently I have decided to get back into programming. Since all of ny knowledge is self taught there are lots of gaps in it. It seems that vectors are used a lot in peoples examples I have seen and was hoping that maybe someone with more knowledge on the subject could explain the benifits of them.
All I know is that for example vec3 would contain 3 different numbers, but why not just use a table instead? I am aware that there are some vector functions like there are table functions, but I am unaware of how to properly use them or for what purposes to use them.

Cheers.
Life without internet is life without food, you won't last long.
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: Vectors for a dummie

Post by Robin »

I think you're talking about the [wiki]Shader[/wiki] language. That is not Lua, so it has different concepts.
Help us help you: attach a .love.
Zulsorai
Prole

Post by Zulsorai »

That would probably be it, like I said many holes in my knowledge. Thanks for the clarification.
GloryFish
Prole

Post by GloryFish »

There are plenty of use cases for vectors that are not at all related to Shaders.

For context, read through the Linear Algebra for game developers series. Those articles will answer the general question of what a vector is, what it's used for, and what some of those vector functions are.

Note that a vector is just a mathematical concept. You can certainly represent a vector2 or a vector3 as a table of values. However, I think your question is actually more along the lines of "why not just use a table instead of a vector library?".

The short answer is because it can make your code more clear (with all the benefits that come from that).

For a longer answer, I'll show you an example using plain tables and one using a vector library.