Avoidant, a game I made as my First Shitty Game™

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
hbar
Prole

Avoidant, a game I made as my First Shitty Game™

Post by hbar »

I made a New Year's resolution to finally make a game and finish it this year. I've started a lot of projects and toyed around with a lot of ideas, but always set the bar too high and quit when the game proved too difficult to implement or didn't feel good enough. To overcome this problem I vowed to make a game from start to finish, no matter how shitty it would be.

Last week I started playing around with Love and after a few nights of after work coding and a nice 18 hour spree on Saturday, this is what I came up with. The game still needs some work, but I'm happy enough to demo it. I even made a small website for it as an exercise.

So, I present to you for critique Avoidant. You can get the standalone versions of the game, or the .love file. I'll also put the game up on GitHub when I get the chance to clean the code up a bit.

In case you don't want to go through the website (I undestand), here are direct links to the files:
Win 64 | Win 32 | OS X | .love

The game is a simple enemy avoiding game, with a small twist. (Gameplay GIF) You need to collect energy to beat the game, but in order to do that, you need to be close to one of the enemy types while avoiding the others. And the type you need to be close to changes every few seconds. And to make things difficult, the enemies you need to be close to try to avoid you and the others will actively hunt you. There's no death in the game, the aim is to get the fastest time.

The game mechanic is a bit bare bones, but it can be fun for a while trying to get the high score. There's even multiplayer (two players on one controller), but it's not very well balanced right now as I had no-one to test with over the weekend. I also plan to release the options menu as DLC later.