Gotten interested in .lua and love 2D

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
SuperScourge
Prole

Gotten interested in .lua and love 2D

Post by SuperScourge »

Since I played Mari0 the Portal/SMB1 crossover I've gotten so into that I was gonna take the time to learn using .lua and create games, so how I can start by taking the time to learn such code? There's no books in the ibooks store (I like to read it digitally more so I can highlight a section and note it or whatever).

So how I can learn using .lua and Love2D? now my biggest feat I would love to try is a 2.5D shooter which I'll need to learn how to make that, is it really possbile to make a 2.5D Shooter like Duke Nukem 3D with mouse aim?

so I'm basically new to using love 2D and .lua and I have BBedit to do all of my .lua language coding.
mickeyjm
Party member

Re: Gotten interested in .lua and love 2D

Post by mickeyjm »

Welcome to the forums!

I recommend you start out by looking through this and the wiki to get started, also looking through other people's code can help, provided it is commented well enough :P.

Also small thing, but ".lua" is the file extension, the language is simply "Lua" and the domain is "love2d" while the framework itself is simply called "LOVE" (umlaut on O but I don't know how to type that).

Finally 2.5D is possible, but relatively tricky to do and not really the sort of thing love is geared towards.
Your screen is very zoomed in...
SuperScourge
Prole

Post by SuperScourge »

mickeyjm wrote:Welcome to the forums!

I recommend you start out by looking through this and the wiki to get started, also looking through other people's code can help, provided it is commented well enough :P.

Also small thing, but ".lua" is the file extension, the language is simply "Lua" and the domain is "love2d" while the framework itself is simply called "LOVE" (umlaut on O but I don't know how to type that).