CODEA -> Cocos2dx and Love

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Alnaumov
Prole

CODEA -> Cocos2dx and Love

Post by Alnaumov »

It might be the wrong place to ask this question, but I need some advice.

I have some prior experience with CODEA, Processing and C++, though, not much. And I was thinking of making the next step.

I was thinking between Cocos and Love. I got a number of books on Cocos, but it has too many things I can't quite understand - "listeners", and other stuff. Probably, I just need to get over It.

My main objective is to create some simple 2D games and models.

The questions I am asking are:
- is there much difference between Processing and Love? Or am I just trading one thing over another which is pretty much the same.
- in terms of making a STEP forward, is Love just a playground to start with, so as to move to something more serious?

Thanks for your advice:)
Muris
Party member

Re: CODEA -> Cocos2dx and Love

Post by Muris »

I've been doing some searching other way around like what does cocos2d have that love2d doesn't. Cocos2dx is not same as love2d btw. I don't really know anything about processing but judging the processing site, it looks like a language with types.