Starting up on Löwe

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
adge
Citizen

Starting up on Löwe

Post by adge »

Hi there!

I'm totally new to Löwe. Just found out about Love2d a few days ago and I'm shocked how simple, fast and flexible it seems. Loading it up, coding something and making a executable file is super easy!

However I'm a bit curious why Löwe has never been used for bigger projects. I'm not talking about Crysis but something like this:

Rain World:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/ra ... ld?lang=de

Radio The universe:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/15 ... -0?lang=de

TowerClimb:
http://store.steampowered.com/app/396640/

I mean it seems super great. The level of abstraction makes everything super easy and Lua is I think the most easiest language to learn but at the same time it seems you could do anything you could imagine in a 2D sense. I worked a lot with GameMaker, well rather messed with GameMaker and really got bored by its bugs and lack of control. Moreover with GameMaker comes a lot of simplicity but also a lot of overhead I think. Furthermore GameMaker's OS X "Compiler" seems totally crappy since very light Projects sucked up 90% of a single CPU's core power. Is there something I don't know? I don't want to spend time on something which wouldn't allow me to go bigger. I somewhere heard that Moai is also a great alternative.
I'm aware of that most Projects are limited by one's own creativity instead by the Framework used. I just want to know why Love2d isn't used more. Is it just the lack of mobile support? Or do people tend to use Unity because of the level editor? But there are also people who use Cocos2d, XNA which also do not have level editors. Or are there problems with the performance on lager Projects.