Are there any level editor?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
ozergul
Prole

Are there any level editor?

Post by ozergul »

Hi,
I am new to love2d. I wonder whether there is visual level editor for love?
zorg
Party member

Re: Are there any level editor?

Post by zorg »

There's not one, since that would restrict people's choices about how to go on coding a game. That said, i've seen a few over the years, not sure if they're released or private though.
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
Ekamu
Party member

Post by Ekamu »

The unofficial LOVE2d Level Editor
Tiled Map Editor
Advanced Tile Loader

You're going to need to revise some of the code for Advanced Tile Loader to work with LOVE 10.1 and later. (read the love2d changelog and test and debug).

Advanced Tile Loader Info

If you're in a hurry, the easy way is to get an older version of love2d that is stable with ATL and then download some games, extract them and mess around with the source code or follow some of the older tutorials until you're confident enough.
In my opinion, you're better of with simple 2d arrays and any image editing software that can work with layers just to get a visual idea of what you want. In the long run you can develop your own level editor in game, this is a lot more useful (and fun).

Here is an example of a Platformer Demo from Exploding Rabbit.
ATLPlatfromerDemo.zip
(91.54 KiB) Downloaded 266 times
It works with love 9.0 which is not so much different from 10.1, the original tutorial was deleted or moved so it might be unavailable, anyway here is there website. Try Necro-Search for the tutorial if it still exists.

Exploding Rabbit

Trust me, you're better of learning this without relying on an IDE or Level Editor.
Object Oriented and Class/Inheritance Stuff Lua
Arrays in Lua