I'm already pretty sold but I'd like reassurance that LÖVE is the right choice.

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
3ngin33r
Prole

I'm already pretty sold but I'd like reassurance that LÖVE is the right choice.

Post by 3ngin33r »

I have no experience with making games. My only experience with programming is making macros in WoW so LUA immediately seemed very attractive. My major annoyance with engines I tried, is that they try to suffocate me in an endless supply of menus before I'm allowed to make anything. That resulted in me being very pleased with the fact that I can whip up notepad++ and make an actual application that does something, however unimpressive, within 5 minutes of clicking the link to the main page.

Are these things possible?

1: I want a feature in a game (once I actually know what I'm doing ofc.) where you can sorta' hack the game from the inside out. Essentially being able to modify the code of the game while it's running using an in-game command prompt. Players could access hidden assets that way, modify the behavior of NPCs as well as completely break the game by not using proper syntax. Then, when they next try to run the exe they'd be greeted with an Easter egg and the game would repair itself by simply reinstalling itself. I imagine the latter is the easier part. I have a lot of ideas of what to do with this concept.

2: Dynamic lighting for pixel art using normal maps. I'm guessing yes.

3: A powerful object manipulation system like in Papers, Please! Also guessing yes.

Here're the first couple of things I'm planning to learn to do, tell me if it's a good place to start.

Make a properly scaled pixel art dude walk around a room with obstacles in it by using either wasd or pathfinding with mouse clicks.
Pull up a new scene when you click on a multiple page document on a table, touch it all over. Drag it around the screen, open it, write on it, tear a piece off etc. using the mouse.
Nixola