Best practices and things you'd like changed about Love2D

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
milon
Party member

Best practices and things you'd like changed about Love2D

Post by milon »

grump wrote: Wed May 26, 2021 5:07 pm ...
Keycodes being the first argument in keyboard events comes right after love.load on the list of things that should be burned at the stake.
This seems off-topic enough to warrant its own thread. I almost sent this as a private message, but then I thought I might not be the only one with this question.

I'm not looking exclusively for a response from grump (although I really do want to hear from him/her), so everyone feel free to chime in with any insights here.

The keycodes comment I understand - there are multiple keyboard layouts and assuming only 1 is highly problematic.

Please tell me more about your issue with love.load. I'm a self-taught novice, and don't have all the best-practice knowledge that others may take for granted. Also, are there other best-practice pieces of wisdom you'd like to share?
Any code samples/ideas by me should be considered Public Domain (no attribution needed) license unless otherwise stated.
grump
Party member

Re: Best practices and things you'd like changed about Love2D

Post by grump »

milon wrote: Tue Jun 01, 2021 2:18 pm Please tell me more about your issue with love.load.
Sure.

love.load is a constant source of confusion for newbies, and encourages them to make bad decisions.

love.load has no real purpose. Everything you do in love.load you can do at the top level of main.lua instead.