What UI library do you recommend?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
ddabrahim
Party member

What UI library do you recommend?

Post by ddabrahim »

Hi.

I'm new to LOVE and I'm looking for a UI library for more than just games.
I did find this list on GitHub but can not really decide which one worth to try:
https://github.com/love2d-community/awesome-love2d#ui

Which library would you recommend?
It would be important to be compatible with Love 11.3, to be maintained and preferably to be cross-platform mobile/desktop but also interested in desktop only solutions that works on Windows, Mac and Linux.

I would appreciate any recommendations.
Thank you.
Gunroar:Cannon()
Party member

Re: What UI library do you recommend?

Post by Gunroar:Cannon() »

I know people like better, and this one is not really maintained anymore, but gooi is just easy to use and customize for me (plus works with android). I've also heard of slab(which I think also works with android, anything that uses mousepressed/mousereleased should work with android, minus tool tips).
The risk I took was calculated,
but man, am I bad at math.

-How to be saved and born again :huh:
AuahDark
Party member

Post by AuahDark »

I recently developed a layouting helper library. It's not full UI library however, but I think it's sufficient for you to build UI for your game based on my layouting library.

https://github.com/MikuAuahDark/NPad93#nlay (find nlay.lua)
Profile. Do you encounter crashes in LÖVE Android and wanna send me logcats? Please hit me up in LÖVE Discord and send the full logcat file!
monolifed
Party member

Post by monolifed »

https://github.com/tavuntu/urutora
Easy to learn and use.
Unfortunately it doesn't support multitouch, I don't know any gui library that does.
Gunroar:Cannon()
Party member

Post by Gunroar:Cannon() »

monolifed wrote: Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:24 am https://github.com/tavuntu/urutora
Easy to learn and use.