What are your mental or psychological barriers to project success?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
togFox
Party member

What are your mental or psychological barriers to project success?

Post by togFox »

I've been coding for 2 years now (I'm just a pup!) and I find that most projects fail due to me being over-ambitious. The other thing that bites me is me deep diving into a single "scene" and progressing that very well, only to realise too late, due to lack of planning ,that the next "scene" will break unless I re-engineer the scene I just finished. :( At that point I lose heart and notch up another failed project.

And you? What trap do you fall into time and again?
Current project:
https://togfox.itch.io/backyard-gridiron-manager
American football manager/sim game - build and manage a roster and win season after season
GVovkiv
Party member

Re: What are your mental or psychological barriers to project success?

Post by GVovkiv »

My trap is overengineering everything to point where "I don't want to use this anymore, i need rewrite it to be less overengineered" only to ends up with another overengineered solution, so i just give up when i tire from this
dusoft
Party member

Post by dusoft »

Content. I am OK with programming and developing an engine, but when it comes to preparing content I lose interest.
Hugues Ross
Citizen

Post by Hugues Ross »

Honestly, I don't feel like I've got any major mental barriers at this point... I used to have that very programmer-y grade of NIH where I had to make everything myself in low-level langs, even down to silly things like basic 3d math and 'standard library' type features, but these days I've mellowed out a bit and I'm less bad about that (hence why I'm here).

My barriers are mostly physical now--time, energy, and wrist health are my main woes.
darkfrei
Party member

Post by darkfrei »